Term Dates, Term Times & Absence Reporting

Term Dates 2018-2019Absence Reporting LineAcademic Calendar 2018-2019Term Dates 2019-2020Snow and Severe Weather Information
Colchester Institute Further Education Term Dates 2018-2019:
Term Date
 

Autumn

 

Wednesday 5th September – Thursday 18th October 2018*

Half term: Monday 22nd October – Friday 26th October 2018

Monday 29th October – Wednesday 19th December 2018

 

Spring

 

Thursday 3rd January – Thursday 14th February 2019*

Half term: Monday 18th February – Friday 22nd February 2019

Monday 25th February – Friday 5th April 2019

 

Summer

Tuesday 23rd April – Tuesday 25th June 2019

Note: there is no half term break in the Summer term

*Please note that the College is closed on Bank Holidays and for Learning and Teaching Development Days on

Friday 19th October 2018 and Friday 15th February 2019

UCC University Centre Colchester Term Dates 2018 – 2019:
SemesterDate
Semester 1Registration and Induction Week: Monday 24th September – Friday 28th September 2018

Monday 1st October – Thursday 18th October 2018*

Reading Week: Monday 22nd October – Friday 26th October 2018

Monday 29th October – Friday 14th December 2018

Christmas Break: Monday 17th December – Friday 28th December 2018

Reading Week: Monday 31st December – Friday 4th January 2019

Monday 7th January – Thursday 7th February 2019*

Inter-Semester Break: Monday 11th February – Friday 22nd February 2019

Semester 2Monday 25th February – Friday 5th April 2019

Easter Break: Monday 8th April – Friday 19th April 2019

Tuesday 23rd April – Friday 21st June 2019*

*Please note that the College is closed on Bank Holidays and for Learning and Teaching Development Days on

Friday 19th October 2018 and Friday 8th February 2019.

Absences can be reported using our new online reporting form. Simply click on the button below and enter your details.
Please try to ensure that you make your report your before 9am on the day of your absence.
Please note: Students need to notify their tutor directly for lateness notifications.

Absence Line – Online Reporting

The gates for the College Campuses are opened from 6am, with classrooms and facilities opening at their stated times.

For information on Library Opening Times please click here.

Reception and Switchboard

Reception and Switchboard: 8.30am – 6.30pm Monday – Thursday and 8.30am – 4.30pm term time and 8.30am – 5.00pm Monday – Thursday and 8.30am – 4.30pm non term time

Course enquiry Line: 8.30am – 5.00pm Monday – Thursday and 8.30pm – 4.30pm Friday all year.

To search for a number, please use our Telephone Directory.

TermDate
AutumnWednesday 4th September – Friday 25th October 2019

Half Term: Monday 28th October – Friday 1st November 2019

Monday 4th November – Friday 20th December 2019

SpringMonday 6th January – Friday 14th February 2020

Half Term: Monday 17th February – Friday 21st February 2020

Monday 24th February – Friday 3rd April 2020

SummerMonday 20th April – Tuesday, 23rd June 2020

In the event of Severe Weather Conditions.

The Snow Closure Process

As part of our Bad Weather Communication Process Senior Managers will review the position as early as possible if we are considering a closure.  The official decision to close is ultimately taken by our Principal and Vice-Principals.

Our campuses will only be closed if one or more of the following conditions apply:

  • Insufficient first aid trained and fully qualified staff are able to travel in and ensure the safe running of the campus.
  • Conditions on site are considered too dangerous for the safety of students and staff.
  • Conditions are considered to be, or are expected to become too hazardous to travel later in the day.

If any of our sites are to close, a decision will be made by 6:45am and the following will apply:

  • Pop-up information will display on the college website and updates will be posted on social media using Facebookand Twitter. Please check for updates before starting your journey to college
  • A message will be placed on the main telephone switchboard informing of the decision to close any of our campuses. (01206 712000)

Use of social media (Facebook and Twitter)

The official Colchester Institute Facebook and Twitter social media accounts will be monitored by the college throughout the day. Additional announcements will be posted as necessary and social media accounts will be monitored and updated during office hours (replies/comments after 5pm will not be answered until the following morning).