We are still accepting applications for September 2020 starts.

Our campuses remain closed for the foreseeable future 

Easter Closure and return to study

The College will be closed from Saturday 4th April to Tuesday 14th April (inclusive), there will be no work set for classroom based courses over this normal 2 week holiday period, however we will be returning to remote working on Wednesday 15th April for staff to continue to prepare online learning and resources.

UCC students and Apprentices will return to their online remote learning on Monday 20th April.

Further Education students will return to online remote learning on Wednesday 22nd April. This delay is to allow teaching staff to prepare materials for the next few weeks of online learning on Monday 20th and Tuesday 21st April.

MOT Testing City & Guilds Level 2 Award (classes 4 and 7)

This qualification is for individuals who want, or need to become MOT testers.

What are the entry requirements?

To be eligible to undertake this qualification in order to be an MOT Tester, a learner must:

  • have a current and full UK driving licence for the vehicle classes they want to test
  • be a skilled mechanic with at least 4 years full-time employment in the service and repair of the vehicle types to be tested. (Apprentices who have been employed for 4 years are eligible.)
  • have no unspent convictions for criminal offences connected with the MOT testing scheme or the motor trade, or involving acts of violence or intimidation
  • be ‘of good repute’

To become a nominated tester (NT) for class 3, 4, 5 or 7 vehicles (cars, private buses and light commercial vehicles) you must have an accepted qualification or accreditation at Level 3 or above.

Accepted Qualifications and Accreditation for entry

You can take the MOT testing course if you have a VRQNVQ or SVQ in:

  • Vehicle Mechanical and Electronic Systems, Maintenance and Repair (light vehicle or heavy vehicle), level 3
  • Vehicle Technician, Vehicle Maintenance and Repair (light vehicle or heavy vehicle), level 3

City and Guilds

You can take the MOT testing course if you have a City and Guilds qualification in:

  • Automotive Qualification, NVQ level 3
  • Repair and Servicing of Road Vehicles, 383 (full level 2 or 3)
  • Motor Vehicle Craft Studies, modular – part 3 (requires 3 modules)
  • Motor Vehicle Craft Studies, 381 (full part 2 or 3)
  • Motor Vehicle Craft Studies, pre 381 syllabus (full part 2)
  • Light or Heavy Vehicle Mechanics Craft Studies (full part 2 or 3)
  • Motor Vehicle Technician’s Certificate (full part 1)

Other qualifications

You can also take the MOT testing course if you have one of these qualifications:

  • IMI level 3 National Diploma in Vehicle Maintenance and Repair (light vehicle or heavy vehicle)
  • National Craft Certification with a specialism of Vehicle Maintenance and Electronic Systems
  • Business and Technology Education Council (BTEC), National Certificate or Ordinary National Certificate (ONC) in Motor Vehicle Engineering studies
  • Scottish Vocational Educational Council National Certificate in Vehicle Mechanics and Systems (part 3)
What will I study as part of this qualification?

The content of this qualification has been designed to reflect the contents of the National Occupational Standards for MOT Testers.
The content of the qualification includes:

  • working safely within a vehicle test centre
  • communicating with colleagues and customers
  • how to manage and maintain their CPD
  • carrying out pre-test checks
  • carrying out an MOT test
What Can I Do Next?

For some learners this qualification could prepare them for progression to further learning and training. For others, this qualification could also provide a useful recognition of their practical skills and knowledge, to aid their step from one job role to another.

This qualification is primarily developed for those individuals who wish to enhance their career by qualifying as an MOT Tester. Achievement of this qualification enables them to apply to undertake the DVSA final observed assessment in order to achieve their Certificate of Competence (CoC), enabling them to become a Nominated Tester.

MOT Testing City & Guilds Level 2 Award (classes 4 and 7)
Course Outline: This qualification is for individuals who want, or need to become MOT testers.
LevelLevel 2
Duration4 Days: Sessions are during day time as part of a working week
CampusColchester Institute
Start Date30/03/20 - 02/04/20
Fee(s)Price for delegates: £850+vat and £75 Examination Fee. Tea, coffee and lunch supplied.


All Fees and prices shown on the website are for courses starting in the 2019-20 academic year unless stated otherwise, and are correct at the time of entering/printing information, however these may be subject to change. The College cannot accept legal or financial liability as a result of any such changes.

The course information describes programmes offered by Colchester Institute. The College takes all reasonable steps to provide courses as described, but cannot guarantee provision. The information is for guidance and does not form any part of a contract.

The College reserves the right to update and amend information as and when necessary. Colchester Institute will do its best to provide the courses shown, but may have to modify or withdraw a course depending on customer demand and other factors.