UCC | Term Dates, Academic Calendar, Absence Line and Opening Times

21-22 Term Dates21-22 Academic Calendar22-23 Term DatesAbsence Reporting LineSevere Weather Information

University Centre Colchester Term Dates 2021 – 2022:

SemesterDate
Semester 1Registration and Induction: Friday 17th September 2021

Semester 1 start: Monday 20th September – Friday 14th January 2022

Reading Week: Monday 25th October – Friday 29th October 2021

Christmas Break: Monday 20th December – Friday 31st December 2021

Semester 1 restart: Assessment/Tutorials/Examinations:

Monday 3rd January – Friday 14th January 2022

Inter-Semester Break/Marking:

Monday 17th January – Friday 28th January 2022

Semester 2Semester 2 start: Monday 31st January – Friday 1st April 2022

Reading Week: Monday 14th February – Friday 18th February 2022

Easter Break: Monday 4th April – Friday 15th April 2022

Semester 2 restart: Monday 19th April – Friday 27th May 2022

Assessment/Tutorials/Examinations: Monday 16th May – Friday 27th May 2022

Academic Calendar

Academic Calendar

University Centre Colchester Term Dates 2022 – 2023:

SemesterDate
Semester 1Registration and Induction: Thursday 15th September 2022

Semester 1: Monday 19th September – Friday 13th January 2023

Reading Week: Monday 24th October – Friday 28th October 2022

Christmas Break: Monday 19th December – Friday 30th December 2022

Semester 1 restart: Assessment/Tutorials/Examinations:

Wednesday 4th January – Friday 13th January 2023

Inter-Semester Break/Marking:

Monday 16th January – Friday 27th January 2023

Semester 2Semester 2: Monday 30th January – Friday 31st March 2023

Reading Week: Monday 13th February – Friday 17th February 2023

Easter Break: Monday 3rd April – Friday 14th April 2023

Semester 2 restart: Monday 17th April – Friday 12th May 2023

Assessment/Tutorials/Examinations: Monday 15th May – Friday 26th May 2023

Semester 2 ends: Friday 26th May 2023

Absence Reporting Line

There is a dedicated Absence Reporting Line – (01206) 712160 for all Colchester Institute students.

The line is manned from 8am. Callers before this time can leave a message.

All calls are logged and the relevant tutor is notified. If you are going to be absent it is preferable to call before 9am.

Please note: Students need to notify their tutor directly for lateness notifications.

Opening Times

The gates for the College Campuses are opened from 6am, with classrooms and facilities opening at their stated times.

For information on Library Opening Times please click here.

Reception and Switchboard

Reception and Switchboard: 8.30am – 6.30pm Monday – Thursday and 8.30am – 4.30pm term time and 8.30am – 5.00pm Monday – Thursday and 8.30am – 4.30pm non term time

Course enquiry Line: 8.30am – 5.00pm Monday – Thursday and 8.30pm – 4.30pm Friday all year.

To search for a number, please use our Telephone Directory.

SNOW AND SEVERE WEATHER INFORMATION

In the event of Severe Weather Conditions.

The Snow Closure Process

As part of our Bad Weather Communication Process Senior Managers will review the position as early as possible if we are considering a closure.  The official decision to close is ultimately taken by our Principal and Vice-Principals.

Our campuses will only be closed if one or more of the following conditions apply:

  • Insufficient first aid trained and fully qualified staff are able to travel in and ensure the safe running of the campus.
  • Conditions on site are considered too dangerous for the safety of students and staff.
  • Conditions are considered to be, or are expected to become too hazardous to travel later in the day.

If any of our sites are to close, a decision will be made by 6:45am and the following will apply:

  • Pop-up information will display on the college website and updates will be posted on social media using Facebook and Twitter. Please check for updates before starting your journey to college
  • A message will be placed on the main telephone switchboard informing of the decision to close any of our campuses. (01206 712000)

Use of social media (Facebook and Twitter)

The official Colchester Institute Facebook and Twitter social media accounts will be monitored by the college throughout the day. Additional announcements will be posted as necessary and social media accounts will be monitored and updated during office hours (replies/comments after 5pm will not be answered until the following morning).